Compatible 1TB HDD for Thompson SKY+ HD box

Which replacement drives can you use and which do people recommend?

Compatible 1TB HDD for Thompson SKY+ HD box

Postby niges » Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:47 pm

Hi

I have read a lot of posts about a few problems with compatibility for the Thompson Box (i.e. get SATA I and not SATA II HDD). Some posts complain about the Western Digital WD10EVDS as its SATA II and they experience slow menu's and jutter in recordings.

Can anyone recommend 1TB replacement hard drive please for the Thompson box?

Thanks in advance

Nige.
niges
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:38 pm

Re: Compatible 1TB HDD for Thompson SKY+ HD box

Postby niges » Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:50 pm

aha, now I have just spotted this post
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=848

Thanks to Mark (huddy1000000)
niges
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:38 pm

Re: Compatible 1TB HDD for Thompson SKY+ HD box

Postby niges » Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:38 pm

Update:

Following Mark (huddy1000000) recommendation I bought this HDD

£49 delivered, used Copy+ and successfully replaced the Hard Drive , now I have 91% free space and no problems at all! wow

Thanks for the pointers!
niges
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:38 pm

Re: Compatible 1TB HDD for Thompson SKY+ HD box

Postby srk1407 » Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:51 am

Hi.

Looking to change my HDD in my Thomson box, however I have a couple of questions.

1. Can I purchase a 1TB drive and plug in and play. Can find lots of posts, but they are old and not sure if the software has been changed to do this

2. How long does it take to copy theold drive to the new one? Roughly how long per gig?

3. Is Samsung the best one? I saw niges had said it is, but others say dont. I have the Thomson with software 3004.

thanks


Scott
srk1407
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:54 pm

Re: Compatible 1TB HDD for Thompson SKY+ HD box

Postby pcbbc » Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:04 pm

srk1407 wrote:1. Can I purchase a 1TB drive and plug in and play. Can find lots of posts, but they are old and not sure if the software has been changed to do this
No - You will only get 492GB capacity by doing this.
Only the new Amstrad boxes are capable of correctly formatting disks over 508GB in size.

2. How long does it take to copy theold drive to the new one? Roughly how long per gig?
Depends entirely how you connect you drive and how many recordings you copy.
Via USB doing a direct copy (rather than backup and restore) you can get about 40-80GB per hour or better.
Using eSATA is even quicker if you have that option.

3. Is Samsung the best one? I saw niges had said it is, but others say dont. I have the Thomson with software 3004.
No idea - sorry.
Check out the other posts here and on digitalspy for people who have actually tried the drive you are considering.
User avatar
pcbbc
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1801
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:08 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Compatible 1TB HDD for Thompson SKY+ HD box

Postby srk1407 » Sun Oct 17, 2010 9:56 am

Thanks for your help.

Tried Copy+ and messed it up completely. 1st attempt it failed and then did not recognise the new drive, so deleted partition and noticed i did the wrong drive! Hey ho, no recordings to copy. Never mind.

So installed into Sky box and did planner build.

However, how do I know if it is operating as 500gb or 1tb?

thanks again.

Scott :mrgreen:
srk1407
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:54 pm


Return to HDD Compatibility & Reviews

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests