+Extract not seeing any recordings on Sky+ drive

Having problems with +Extract? Ask in here

+Extract not seeing any recordings on Sky+ drive

Postby cwt » Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:18 pm

I've been using +Extract 0.3.0.7 for a few months without any problems.

Over the weekend I connected the Sky+ drive up to my PC as normal... +Extract found the drive but did not list any recorded programmes.

At this point I'm going to apologise for the long post :)

I started looking through the contents of the drive by hand using My Computer - there were lots of folders containing the usual mix of files. I found that I could access all that I tried to with the exception of the .STR files - any of them. Any attempt to copy a .STR file to another drive resulted in an access error popping up. All of this was done while running as a user with admin rights in XP.

I thought it a bit odd that I could open any file except the .STR files - although I've never done any poking around before now so I don't know if this is odd or just normal behaviour. I assumed that +Extract was showing no programmes because it was also not able to access the .STR files.

I rebooted the PC (a simple thing to try) and also disconnecting and reconnecting the Sky+ drive - no difference. Putting the drive back onto the Sky+ box didn't show any problems - everything seemed to be working fine.

I tried connecting the drive to a Linux PC - thinking that somehow my rights as an administrator under Win XP might have been messed up or Win XP was interpreting the file ownership/permissions in some funny way. No difference.

I tried changing ownership of the .STR files - that was not permitted even as root on the Linux PC.